Posted by: mountainsinthevalley | January 21, 2012

What If?

Philippians 3:13-14 (KJV)
13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,
14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

If only I had a better paying job

I would pay my tithes and not rob God.

If only I could stop working so hard and so much,

I would take the time, another life to touch.

 

If only I could buy a better car,

Trips to worship would not seem so far.

I believe, moving to a new community

Would make my life entirely stress free.

 

If only I could turn back the hands of time,

I would avoid mistakes: yours and mine.

I think sometimes of what could have been.

What battles I could avoid now…was then.

 

Neither past can we undo nor future see

Yet, we keep wondering, almost expectantly.

What should I think about when all is not well?

The One whose life gives me victory over hell.

 

Jesus did not die and lay three days in the grave

For our guilt and greedy desires, us to enslave.

He offers us a place in heaven and eternal life.

He is not the creator of our self-inflicted strife.

 

The next instant “If only” enters your mind,

Tell Satan, “In the name of Jesus, get thee behind!”

We should not worry about what could be or has been

But always remain mindful of Jesus’ sacrifice for sin.

 

What if God had not given us Jesus as a gift of love?

We could have no hope for our heaven above.

What if Jesus had not died on the cross?

Our souls would be forever, painfully lost.

 

No longer say, “If only I could, I would.”

Take a stand for Jesus, as you should.

No more allowing obstacles to block the way,

Decide to serve Jesus. Decide TODAY!


Leave a comment

Categories